Steering Committee & Advisory Board

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a designated body of the Board of Directors. It’s composed of 10-12 members, nominated and appointed by the Steering Committee, who are dedicated to freedom, justice, and equality for the Palestinian people. Together the Steering Committee advises and approves USCPR’s work, including hiring and managing the Executive Director. Members are elected to three-year staggered terms, and they serve in their individual capacities.

Advisory Board Members

Affiliations listed for identification purposes only.

  • Hatem Abudayyeh, National Coordinating Committee member, U.S. Palestinian Community Network
  • Huwaida Arraf, human and civil rights attorney; co-founder of the International Solidarity Movement; former chairperson of the Free Gaza Movement
  • Kathy Bergen, board member of Canadian Friends of Sabeel; co-leader of Educational Tours to Israel/Palestine
  • Diana Buttu, lawyer
  • Noura Erakat, human rights attorney and Assistant Professor, George Mason University
  • Nadia Hijab, author and human rights advocate
  • Rashid Khalidi, Edward Said Professor of Arab Studies, Columbia University; editor, Journal of Palestine Studies
  • Abir Kopty, media consultant; PhD student at the Freie Universität, Berlin; former spokesperson for the Popular Struggle Coordination Committee in Palestine
  • Maria LaHood, Deputy Legal Director, Center for Constitutional Rights
  • Kevin Martin, President, Peace Action and Peace Action Education Fund; convener, Korea Peace Network
  • Yousef Munayyer, Palestinian-American scholar
  • Nancy Murray, Alliance for Water Justice in Palestine
  • Barbara Ransby, historian, writer, activist
  • Fayrouz Sharqawi, Advocacy Director, Grassroots al-Quds
  • Cornel West